Birthdays to party or not to party?

We have made a decision. A decision that we feel is best for our family in this moment. I know deep down inside that this is the right decision for us so why, I wonder, am I feeling so guilty about it?

We have decided to *gasp* skip a big birthday party for our kids this year!! What do I mean no party???? No invitations, no loot bags, no party games or crafts? As I’m typing I’m feeling like a bad mum. I’m a person of routine. We’ve had a party for them every single year since Mr. T turned 1. Changing our routine shakes my world a little. I’ve always loved party planning for them. I’ve enjoyed coming up with a theme, planning out the games, designing and baking the cake, and sending out the invites. This year started out no different. I started to plan. I wanted to do a super hero party with girl and boy super heroes. I researched and was very disappointed to find that I could arrange for superman, spider-man or batman to come to the house to entertain the children but there was no girl superhero available. This in itself is a whole post on it’s own!

During an evening chat with Mr. C. we remarked at how fast the kids were growing, how quickly this whole thing was flying by. We worried how much longer they’d want to play with us, cuddle with us, be our friends. We decided that we needed to make more time for just the four of us. This chat in turn led to us deciding that instead of throwing a big party we were going to use that money to go away together. Just the four of us. We very quickly settled on a couple of days at Great Wolf Lodge.

So there we have it. No party. Will our kids miss it? I don’t think so. I think they are going to have a blast. They have never mentioned a party. They did ,however, find a brochure for GWL and beg us to take them there. Wink, wink.

I do feel a bit guilty. There is a small part of me that wonders if they are going to feel like they missed out. Then I wake up, shake my head and realize who says they must have a party every year? There will never be a year that we don’t mark their birthdays with pomp and circumstance. Birthdays are huge. The only one day of the year that can be dedicated to you. A day to make you feel special. I want to make my children feel how special they are to me. They will feel special. I can’t wait to see their little faces when they open their presents. I will shower them with balloons and cupcakes, love and cuddles and most importantly fun! 

When they are old enough and want to have birthday parties with all their friends I will happily plan, bake and decorate to make their day as delightful as they imagined. For now, while we can get away with it, we are keeping this special day a small family affair. I think the fun that is going to be had will be well worth it and the memories made will last well after the party buzz would have worn off.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Birthdays to party or not to party?

  1. i love this idea. having just gone through the party planning for AJ’s 5th…i think this idea makes a lot more sense. it cost me a fortune to put the party on, and i could have used that cash to do something much more intimate for our family. we’ve thought of not doing parties too, but feel somehow obligated! thanks for showing me we’re not alone! (and for the inspiration!)

    • You are right somehow we feel obligated. I am feeling a bit guilty and have questioned my decision a few times. What I’ve realized is that they are going to love this and that’s What matters. It isn’t really about anyone else. Next year I will probably be back into party mode but I don’t think it hurts to skip it once in a while and take some time just for you.

  2. If it makes you feel any better I haven’t had a friend party for any of my kids yet. I don’t have a ton of friends with kids so until Joel started school he didn’t have many ‘friends.’ His birthday was the second day of school last year so he didn’t have friends yet. And this year he just doesn’t care. He is happy to have our family over for cake, presents and company. This year we are taking him and Owen tomorrow to go see Disney Planes and he is thrilled! I think GWL is an awesome idea and the kids will love it so much more anyways!

Leave a Reply

