The changing face of Christmas

I am writing this from my brand new notebook! A wonderful Christmas present from my mummy. Something that will, hopefully, allow me to write a little bit more, since I have been slacking since going back to work.

Christmas in our house, growing up was always a very big deal. It was huge. We had tons of presents, a big wonderful dinner, lots of family time. It was beautiful. I have the warmest memories of Christmas in my house, it was always full of love and warmth.

Throughout the years Christmas has changed, it has evolved if you will. In the early years we spent many a Christmas packing up the car and driving to our grandparents home 6 hours away.  Sometimes through snow storms, sometimes at night, mostly a stressful drive for my parents. As we got older my parents decided that was all a little too much to do every year and we started spending our holidays in our own home, building our own family traditions. Going to church every Christmas eve, waking up early to open our gifts, my dad making us a huge Christmas breakfast. It was truly wonderful and some of my most cherished childhood memories come from Christmas with my family.

Then I grew up and Christmas changed yet again. While it was a big deal and I loved spending the time with family, Christmas had lost it’s magic. I got married and with the holidays came the stress about whose family we would see and when. Where we would eat our Christmas dinner, who did we have to visit of Christmas eve. It became a bit stressful, a little tense and not what I had imagined it would be once I started my own family.

Now I have children and yet again the face of Christmas has changed.  The magic of Christmas is back! Mr. T. is at the perfect age for the wonders of the season. The excitement that comes with children at this time of year is just beautiful. The anticipation of Santa coming on Christmas morning wasn’t just coming from Mr. T , I was also sharing in that anticipation. In fact, I was the first to wake up Christmas morning and was pleading with the kids in my mind to wake up so that we could begin with the festivities. Mr. T. was sleeping in bed with Mr. C. and I and when his eyes finally opened he had forgotten that it was Christmas morning. I whispered “hey do you think Santa came?” and his little sleepy eyes widened with excitement. He wanted so bad to get up and check but was a little nervous about what he would find. He asked me to take him to check his stocking but as soon as he saw it at the end of his bed, all filled up with goodies, his nervousness turned to excitement and he pulled out and examined each little treat left by Santa.

Ms. J. is still a little too young to grasp the concept of Santa and the whole Christmas thing but I think she was just being her usual happy self and feeding off everyone else’ excitement. Mr T actually had to wake her up because neither him or I could wait any longer to go down and bathe in the glow of the Christmas tree while opening our presents and nibbling on our delicious Christmas breakfast.

My parents, remembering the stress of packing up the kids and trekking out on Christmas day, asked if we would like it if they came to our place on Christmas day since it was their turn for Christmas day. I happily agreed, looking forward to spending Christmas day in our own home. The kids playing with their new toys, not having to get dressed and go out in the cold. I didn’t for one second regret my decision. It was an  amazing day and in fact, our first Christmas that we’ve spent in our own home. The kids played with their new toys, they enjoyed spending the afternoon with their grandparents, showing them all their new toys. I proudly displayed my turkey at the table and cooked Christmas dinner with my mum. It was wonderful. THe evolution of my mum cooking dinner for me to my mum and I cooking the dinner together.  It was just the perfect way to spend Christmas.

Now that I have children I feel like the magic of Christmas is back. I’m seeing the beauty of the Christmas season through the eyes of a child and it’s just amazing. We are hearing hoofsteps on the roof, listening out for Santa’s sleigh bells and writing our letters to the big man at the North Pole. This has to be the most fun that I’ve had at Christmas in a very long time.

I usually don’t deal with change very well but this change is wonderful. Christmas is going to be magical and beautiful for the next few years. I am so truly grateful for my family. My wonderful husband and my two beautiful babies as well as my extended family. I can’t believe that Christmas day has come and gone for this year but I can tell you that I already can’t wait until next year! Next year even Ms J should join in on the excitement of the day. Christmas truly can’t get any better than this and today I couldn’t be happier, feel more loved or be more grateful for what I have been blessed with.

And with that I wish a Merry Christmas to all and to all a goodnight.

Leave a Reply

